Marathon Mom has arrived!


announcements,baby clothes,baby gifts,baptism,birthday party invitations,bunny,cafepress,children's apparel,christening,elephant,lady bug,lady bug,maternity,mimibug,pregnancy,rabbit,Sugar and Sprouts Boutique,sweet, cute, cool, funky,thank you notes

OK, so I decided my little one needs a good mommy role model. Yeah, I would prefer to plop my ass down in front of TV and watch a good rerun of “Eureka” on the SciFi channel, and eat a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey, but what message would that really send?  No, I have decided to do the unthinkable – I am training for a marathon.  And not the ice cream eating kind.

I have actually been a runner off and on my whole adult life.  I ran track in high school, kind of.  I was mostly a “jumper” in a school that prided itself on its long-distance trainers and hurdlers.  The jumpers (high, long and triple) kind of hung out on the mats, jogged around and usually ended up sharing a stromboli uptown while everyone else ran their butts off.  That was my track experience.  It was later, in northern Arizona that I discovered the runner’s high (for me, this was usually followed but an insatiable quest for pizza and beer), but still, I ran.  And then I quit for several years.  And then the Olympics (or a random track and field event on television) would get me going again.  It never became a habit.  It never became something I enjoyed.

But I became a Mom of “older gestational age” at 38 a few years ago and after that marathon, I decided I could truly do anything I set my mind to.   I mean, why not?  I have many friends who have crossed that finish line.  Besides, I didn’t want my little one to wake up one day and wonder why Mom’s butt was wider than the fridge.  Besides, she’s fast.  And she’s a little monkey.  I needed some speed and stamina to keep up with her.

And so this blog is dedicated to that purpose.  To share with you my training, my pain (and I expect I’ll be complaining a lot about the pain), my joys, and my accomplishments. 

And so, WELCOME!  I hope you all decide to join in to the conversation, and share your training stories, as well as your Mommy stories.  It’s all fair game here (but keep it clean please!).  Hopefully those of us training for the first time will encourage each other and take advice and strength from those who have already completed this mission.  Also, we can share our stories of painful butt muscles and Ben & Jerry binges. 

The training starts tomorrow ladies.  I am starting with a 16 week schedule to get me in shape for the actual 16 week marathon schedule.  We’ll start running four days per week at the beginning. 

Let the pain begin!  We can take it!!!!!!!

Check out my very cool designs at http://www.cafepress.com/sugarsprouts.  Feel free to make design suggestions on anything from kidwear to your very own uniquely designed marathon tee!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

